Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Schwalbe performance and tubeless
  • whatyadoinsucka
    Free Member

I’m pretty new to tubeless done 4 wheels so far and just wanted advise on going tubeless on regular schwalbe performance tyres, so far my ghetto tubeless has gone well.

I tend to ride 60-120km a week with 1200-1500m climbs all year round around the peaks, West Yorkshire. So a general mix of country lane, off-road, mud, woodland, farm track, moorland Singletrack, gritty sandstone etc

I know schwalbe and bike shops would like us to believe running tubeless you need snakeskin tough sidewalls and evolution range tyres, but do you guys run tubeless on bog standard wired or folding Nobby nics or racing Ralph’s,

I’m trying to decide to get £15.75 Nobby nic folded or pay a little more £25 each for racing Ralph snakeskin deal on Merlin, I’m a tight northerner..

Tyre size I prefer for the bike will be 27.5 x 2.25 wide, I have 2.1 on my 29er but feel they are too slim for the action of a full sus

Any advise recommendation greatly appreciated, I’m currently running xking/mountain King II which came on the bike and seem OK and have gone tubeless well, but I’m tempted to go back to schwalbe

patagonian
    Free Member

I’m running the performance version of the Racing Ralph’s in 29×2.25. Blew up fine but took about a week to settle down due to the number of pinholes in the sidewalls – however the tubeless Rocket Rons were almost as bad.
    Been using them about 12 months now and they are fine.

I wouldn’t use wire bead – you may be a tight northerner but that is a step too far!

whatyadoinsucka
    Free Member

Agreed with the wire bead, thanks Patagonian, I’ll avoid the rocket rons pretty sure I’ve read some terrible reviews on them already

darrenspink
    Free Member