Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Santa Cruz Superlight 2011 Build
  • zerolight
    Free Member

So my 2011 frame arrived late this afternoon – I realise the only difference between this and last years model is, woo, 2011 decals, but still – it's very nice. I get the feeling the paint will chip if you look at it the wrong way! This is my first build. I let Stif fit the BB and Headset Cups. Sadly I made an arse of removing the crown race doodah ring. Chipped the paint and a little bit of the metal on the fork uppers!

Spec will be:

Superlight – Large – RP23
    REBA SL 100mm (2008)
    FSA XC300 Wheels
    Maxxis Ignitor Tyres
    Race Face Evolve XC Chainset
    Race Face Deus XC Stem
    Race Face Evolve XC Seat Post
    Hope Steel BB
    Hope Headset
    Shimano XT Mechs, Cassette, Shifters, Chain (2008 9 speed)
    Hayes Stroker Carbon brakes (2008)
    Gusset Flat Pedals
    Easton EA70 Monkey Bars (2008)
    ODI Rogue Lockon Grips

Think that's about it. Fitted the cranks, wheels, seat post, and a temporary fitting of the stem & forks (to measure how much, 20mm it turns out) I need to have cut off the steerer. And to get an idea what it looks like.

Should I ask the shop to leave the star nut in there when I get it cut down, or use the Hope Head Doctor instead? I'm hoping the local shop in Glasgow will do this while I wait tomorrow. Eeek.

Apologies for the crap photos – iPhone 4 used instead of my SLR. Doh!

nickc

flat pedals on a race-bike = wrong.

get LBS to fit new star nut.

cynic-al
    Free Member

Why did you remove the crown race?

ivantate
    Free Member

Looks nice, might have to get one of these one day.

zerolight
    Free Member

Al, I sold the old frame with it's FSA headset. Figured the Hope headset would need a different ring. It certainly looks different.