Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • running std tyres tubeless
  • Mr_Krabbs
    Free Member

[doctor nick accent]Hi everybody[/doctor nick accent]

i’ve been running tubeless for a few years, (XTR UST wheels) been using bonty mud x and jones tyres in the main, but found them not too good in the wet, i tried super tacky LUST high rollers which were fantastic in terms of grip, but i really struggled with them due to the weight, after 30-40 miles with these i had totally had it. i need more of a compromise.
    I’ve got a set of almost new, standard trailrakers in the shed which the mrs had been using on her bike, and when i’ve ridden them in the past i’ve found them to roll pretty well and grippy too. I can’t afford £80 on a set of UST trailrakers right now. So will the std trailrakers seat ok with some stans sealant in them, also will they be too fragile?

nickc

I understood that regualr panaracers were a no no for converted tubeless

Mr_Krabbs
    Free Member

the wheels have UST rims, so are not converted, will this make no difference?

nickc

I think it’s the beads that aren’t much cop (according to the JRA site)

fbk
    Free Member

I thought the same re panaracers – haven’t actually tried them though.

But Trailrakers – rolling well??? Are you sure?

lookmanohands
    Free Member

Have done it, it is a bit of a pig to get them to seat. Best bet if you go access to an air compressor…oh and lots of patience

Upandrunning
    Free Member

I used Eclipse with Panaracer XX pros.. They were a real arse to put on as the side walls of the tyres were sooooo porous, but once sealed & on the were super.

Mr_Krabbs
    Free Member

i can just give it a go. I think I am more concerned about them being fragile and splitting etc when out on the trail. if I can’t get them pumped up i can just stick the jones acx back on until i’ve enough spare cash to get something else.

if trailrakers are no good, what is the tyre of choice for slippery roots and mud?