Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Running a forum.
  • donsimon
    Free Member

OK, so I think one or two here might have a bit of experience of running forums.
    Pros and cons?
    What software for minimum management maximum fun?
    I have no experience of this kind of thing and do enjoy a steep learning curve, so any help will be greatly received.
    Is it a huge drain on time?
    Benefits?
    I’m sure I have a million other questions, I just don’t know what they are yet… 😕

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

You’re going to need a bigger hamster!

donsimon
    Free Member

You’re going to need a bigger hamster!

I do believe wrapping them in sellotape can prove to be most effective.
    That is what you’re talking about, isn’t it? 😳

King-ocelot
    Free Member

I help set up a drawing forum. It’s now integrated into another forum and doesn’t need much moderation as it’s a specific type of drawing with around only 200 regular posters. Biggest issue for us was image hosting since detailed photographs were large files to maintain their integrity. It was fine after teething problems. The software we used is now obsolete, so technical advice I may have is probably irrelevant. Most of the issues that arose were with personal messages however on the latest build (I only mod it) people often private chat via skype.

donsimon
    Free Member

Most of the issues that arose were with personal messages

I’m not sure I understand what you mean. Are you talking about the general level of insulting/abusing that we openly partake in here or simply a question of privacy?

CharlieMungus
    Free Member

PhpBB i reckon

Though you might want o have a play with Moodle

donsimon
    Free Member

PhpBB was naturally my first thought, but good call on Moodle.
    EDIT: I think Moodle is too education and e-learning based rather than out and out forum, but thanks.

TheSouthernYeti
    Free Member

Dunno. But you’ll need a moderator or two…

donsimon