• This topic has 21 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by DezB.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • RP23 service…again :)
  • MarkyG82

I know this has been asked befor, but my shock is leaking air. Full pressure down to about 65psi in about 5 mins of riding.

Ive checked all the damping functions and decided the air seals are the issue. (I'm an engineer, used to pulling pumps etc apart)

Is it possible to reuse the seals after a full clean or should I get the seal kit?

This leads me onto trying to find somewhere that sells the kit. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance guys (and gals) 🙂

cynic-al
    Free Member

If the seals are at fault would you not want to replace them? Checked the valve?

AFAIK apart from air-can service there's not much you can do – nitrogen charged and perhaps different to pumps.

MarkyG82

Thanks al.

I wasnt comparing it to pumps, was just trying to stress that Iv changed a seal or two in the past.

I spose if the seals are passing then changing them would make sense rather than refurbing.

sv

Mojo do the seal kit and have the instructional video also.

bigyinn
    Free Member

Mine leaked air, turned out the valve core had worked a bit loose. REmoved the core and cleaned it and it was fine after that.
    If you've had the seals in there for more than 2 years it would be a good idea to replace the seals and bushings. Kit from Mojo is about £15 or so. Takes about an hour to do at the most.
    Top tip, make sure the bushings and seals are warmed up a little, makes them more flexible and therefore easier to get in. The aircan bushings are a bit of a fiddle!

MarkyG82

Thanks guys. Will be on the 'dog' to MOJO for the seal kit.

Ill let you know how I get on.

Ant other top tips?

mundiesmiester
    Free Member

Did the aircan service a few weeks back and while it does not leak any air the shaft keeps "wetting" with fluid – any thoughts?

MarkyG82

Did you lube the seals befor rebuild?