Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Road shoes for the wide of foot?
  • scud
    Free Member

I’m relatively new to the road riding side of cycling and have ridden (mostly commuting) using MTB shoes and SPD’s.

I’ve a series of 100 mile plus sportives and one 250 mile ride this year and want to make the switch to decent road shoes.

I’ve broad feet though (feet are only size 7.5 in lengh but take a 9 normally to accomadate them) and want a shoe that is comfortable for all day riding as opposed to racing.

Any suggestions, personal favourites?

Also, any preferred saddles for distance riding for heavier rider (15st)?

atlaz
    Free Member

Sidi do wide fit shoes I think. My Bontrager shoes are a lot wider than my Giro ones but there’s not much in it.

In terms of saddles, you need to find something you find comfortable. Both my road bikes have Selle Italia SLR XC on them. Flexy enough without being bouncy.

umop3pisdn
    Free Member

I have wide feet and Specialized fit very nicely. I’d avoid Asian and European manufacturers, apart from Sidi’s wider fit models.

njee20
    Free Member

+1 for Spesh. Great shoes too.

lunge

Spec for me on the shoe front. And a selle italia flite gel flow suit my similarly proportioned backside.

asterix
    Free Member

First I think you will benefit a lot from getting proper road shoes and pedals instead of SPDs

I have some of these r170 wide fit

higgo
    Free Member

I also have very wide feet (with a high instep) – I’m not saying I’m a mutant but I have had ski boot fitters take one look at me feet and refuse to serve me.

Anyway on to road shoes… Spesh BG shoes fit me really well and I’ve tried on some Sidi in a wide fitting that were a great fit but eye-wateringly expensive. I think they were top of the Sidi range and at the time I was doing 95%MTB/5%road so couldn’t justify them.

MSP