Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Road running shoes
  • ahsat

I’m pretty new to this running lark – having done the Couch to 5k in preparation for a charity offroad 10k this weekend just gone (yes, I know not the ideal prep, but it went better than I expected). I MUCH prefer trail running, but am realistic to keep this going during the winter, I am going to have to embrace the tarmac a bit. I bought Womens Inov-8 Trailroc 255’s for the ‘race’ I did and have pretty much just run in these and (with superfeet in them) they really work for me. But I find for long periods on tarmac, my back starts to ache (I have a prolapsed disc which I manage with physio etc). So I am looking for something similar to the Trailroc’s but that will offer better cushioning on the road (if that makes sense!). I’ve looked at the Inov-8 Roadclaw 275 as an obvious choice, but really I have no idea what I am looking for!

Advice welcome! Many thanks!

allthegear
    Free Member

Don’t know answer but I’m interested in what you find. I’m running about the same kind of level, it sounds.

I was sent off of a proper running shop that stuck me on a machine and videoed my ankles as I ran. They correctly told me my left ankle is a joke and fitted me with some Asics shoes that I’ve found really good. Secret seems to be getting someone to study you properly. It is worth it.

I also had a pro-lapsed disc (L5S1 as it happens) and, if I find my hips giving me pain – I STOP RUNNING FOR A FEW DAYS and let it recover.

Rachel

Tallpaul

Running shop that does free gait analysis.

Running on tarmac is tough on the joints in any footwear. If your back is a real issue, you might want to limit the road miles and throw in something lower impact to supplement.

If you’re already working with a physio, take their advise too.

ahwiles
    Free Member

edit: i’m an illiterate idiot.

somouk
    Free Member