Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Resting Heart Rate
  • Cletus

I have a Garmin Vivoactive HR which averages RHR over the course of a week.

My average is 50 which puts me in the “Athlete” class. This somewhat surprised me when I looked in up as my BMI is 31.6!

I have been doing daily kettlebell workouts for two months and have been riding 100km audax rides most weekends but would not consider myself as athletic or even very fit.

Prior to starting the workouts I tried to walk 10k steps per day but did not do much else. Unfortunately I did not record my RHR at that time.

I would be interested to hear what is the RHR of other forum members and what level of activity they have.

simondbarnes

RHR is not an indicator of your level of fitness.

Flaperon

Book an appointment for an ECG at your GP if you’re concerned. But although there is a relationship between RHR and fitness, 50 is not desperately low.

whitestone
    Free Member

Unless I’m ill (or about to become ill) then my RHR has been mid to upper 40s for as long as I can remember. That’s been pretty consistent regardless of whether I feel “fit” or otherwise and throughout weight ranges of 75Kg to 100Kg.

Basically you need to know your own RHR rather than comparing it to a notional “average” or some other such category.

aracer
    Free Member

Mine was about 42 when I was race fit, still around 48 now I’m way less fit than that (in realistic terms I’m still at “athlete” compared to the general population, just not “elite athlete” any more). As mentioned above, RHR isn’t a fantastic indication of fitness, but then neither does carrying lots of excess weight make you unfit (back in a previous sport I did there was a chap with a similar BMI to you in the top 5 in the country, and it wasn’t a sport where extra weight was an advantage).

totalshell