• This topic has 34 replies, 18 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by sbob.
Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Recommend me a Vernier Caliper!
  • thx1138
    Free Member

A few times recently I’ve realised that having such a tool/instrument would be very handy (like when trying to measure the seatpost and inside the seat tube on my wife’s bike to be able to order a new one the right size, correct diameter of plastic piping for under the sink, etc). Trouble is I know nothing about such things (I’m not an engineer) and haven’t a clue what to look for. Are cheaper ones still ok, as I’ve seen some can go for hundreds. What would I need for the type of tasks exemplified above?

br
    Free Member

Just get a cheap digital one, that’s what I did and they just work – you only need a minimum of 1/10 of a mm.

scaredypants

cheap

those tasks you describe could be completed with a ruler

(aldi have ’em now & then, digital electronic or vernier – works pretty well IME)

theblackmount
    Free Member

Aldi, Lidl / similar all good enough for your needs. You’ll get something decent for under £20

trail_rat
    Free Member

can you read a vernier scale ? – i do like a traditional analogue one

but if if not get a reasonable smallish digital one for about 25 quid.

more money = more accuracy

we use some at work that cost hundreds but ive never had a need to have anything at home more than 20 quid for my uses – including seatposts , tube ODS and IDS.

if i was turning and machining stuff then i would be spending more.

Stoner
    Free Member

The cheap digital ones on ebay arent bad. But keep them somewhere dry – Ive had to junk one because the watch batteries corroded and took out the PCB.

Ignore the brands – just buy the cheapest – if they look like this, they are all the same, and made in the same chinese sweatshop. Fine for tyre width/seatpost diameter/bar diameter measurements.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/310632826393

mattmbk
    Free Member