Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Recommend me a rear derailleur
  • toronte
    Free Member

Hello there,
    Sorry if it’s a dumb question but here it goes:
    My father went to work with my Zesty. Went cross-chained and snapped the XTR M970 rear mech with the hanger. I’m looking for a replacement but I was thinking of putting a newer XT on instead of an old XTR because of it being better value for the money. BUT I’m not sure if the 2012/13 XT rear mech is good for 9 speed setup. May I beg you for advice?

qwerty
    Free Member

Clutch type?

toronte
    Free Member

Very good question. Sry I’m a newbie. It’s a stock ’08 Zesty if this helps.

cfinnimore
    Free Member

2013 Deore with Shadow Plus.

Makes sense.

agentdagnamit
    Free Member

Big fan of clutch mechs here too

toronte
    Free Member

Isn’t there a better option than a Deore?

JollyGreenGiant
    Free Member

Not sure the current 10 speed mtb mechs work with 9 speed shifters.
    I`d look at Merlin and see what they have.

boriselbrus
    Free Member

There is some really poor advice here.

If you have 9 speed shifters, you must use a 9 speed mech. The 10 speed stuff including the clutch mechs will not work as the pull ratio is different.

Just pick your price point, the more you spend, the lighter and smoother it will be and in my experience the longer it lasts (damage excepted).

Mister-P
    Free Member

Boris is correct, no clutch mech for you I am afraid.

dannyh
    Free Member

The cheapest shadow mech you can find. The shadow mechs are slightly less likely to take a rock hit as they don’t stick out as far. Weight savings are minimal in the grand scheme of things.

At the end of the day it is a vulnerable little piece of engineering hanging off of the side of a bike that should be ridden fast over rough ground, why spend loads of money on something that is going to be bent beyond use long before it wears out?

JollyGreenGiant
    Free Member