Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Recomend me a beginners power kite
  • Earl
    Free Member

Complete beginner… looking for something to use in the park/beach.

Im 90kg/14stone and want something that will give me a bit of a workout. I assume I’ll need size 1.8-2m ???

Current list is:
    flexifoil-big-buzz £65
    peter-lynn-vibe 2 £50
    hq-symphony-beach £40

Thanks

peajay

All depends on the wind speed, I have found that I use my 3m blade3 the most, gives a good pull for a work out, don’t think they make them anymore and would be out of your stated budget, try ebay?
    PJ.

flowerpower
    Free Member

I would also say go bigger 🙂

I’m a 10 stone burd and my first kite is a flexi foil rage 3.5m, which I bought after having a play on a friends 4m kite. I bought it second hand on ebay.

It all depends on the wind, but my kite is a good work out in mid to light wind and I know that as I get better I will be able to take it out in stronger winds. My BF is a similar build to me (11 stone ish I think), but with better upper body strength and he is happy to fly it in most conditions…

I tend to head for the beach where possible, it is more fun for getting dragged around and a softer landing if things do go wrong.

mrlugz
    Free Member

For cheapness look at the radsail range. Got a 1.8 and a 2.4 (iirc) for the money they are great.

You could maybe pick up a flexifoil super 10 off the bay for reasonable money, easier to get to grips with as they are 2line kites. I had one for my first ‘proper’ kite.

Then when you get bored of that, get a blade 3 4.9 to pull your arms out. 🙂

peajay

I’ve also got a 4.9m blade that only comes out when the wind is too light for the 3m, the 4.9 beats the crap out of me and if it gets gusty at all things get interesting very quickly, the sweet spot must be around 3 to 4 metre

mrlugz
    Free Member

[video]http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=GB#/watch?v=WFjImiHSe_Q[/video]