Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • quick legal beagles – resignation & confidentiality agrrements
  • Sui
    Free Member

`gotta be quick with this. Due to be marched off premises. can they force me to sign a confidentiality agreement on leaving. my current contract has nowt in it about this – their problem.

cheers,

cynic-al
    Free Member

I think not, but are they offering you something to incentivise you to do so?

IHN

They can't force you to sign anything. Worst case, say you're not signing it until you've taken legal advice.

Sui
    Free Member

ah yes good point.

they have tried, but it aint happening – whole reason i'm going is to take business with me. Although thinking about it, how exactly are these things policed anyway?

hels
    Free Member

Nothing that predicts future action is legally enforceable, especially once the incentive is removed. AFAIK that is, and I'm a librarian.

hels
    Free Member

P.S if you are time poor try http://www.outlaw.com lots of useful stuff for barnyard lawyers there…

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

IIRC they'd have to offer you gardening leave for the period of time your not allowed to work for anyone else, i.e. they'd employ you and make sure you weren't contacting clients etc.

hels
    Free Member

From Outlaw.com (p.s I am not giving you legal advice here)

Employees and confidential information