Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Questions about Gas and Electric cookers
  • mrsfry
    Free Member

I need a new cooker. I have a gas one but want to move to electric.
    Is it easy to disconect the gas myself or do i need a Corgi person also
    is it easy to connect a electric cooker myself or are wires and hospitals involved.

Thank you 🙂

RobHilton
    Free Member

Is it easy to disconect the gas myself

😯

If you have to ask…

beefheart
    Free Member

It’s a cakewalk.
    What’s the worst that could happen?

mrsfry
    Free Member

So do i just turn the handle off at the grey gas thingy and disconnect the cooker? Do i need to pull the hose off or do i just tape it up.

Thank you

beefheart
    Free Member

If it’s a bayonet type fitting you can do it, if not get someone corgi registered.
    Have a look at some how to youtube videos to see what they look like.

(Disclaimer- I am not an expert)

paulosoxo
    Free Member

Get someone in.

bails

Don’t do it, electric hobs are rubbish.

Also, it sounds like you might blow your house up.

spooky_b329

Mine was just a push and rotate to release bayonet fitting, self sealing and with a lever just to be sure. I think if you remove the cooker permanently you just fit a blanking plug with gas PTFE tape (not the white stuff) to be safe.

I didn’t give it a second thought as I’d moved the cooker several times whilst decorating, its not rocket science 🙂 If you trust yourself to connect a patio heater/BBQ, and can smell, and use a water soap solution to check for bubbles, why would you need a gas engineer?

(I wouldn’t leave any sort of hose on the fitting, it should be blanked off at the rigid pipework)

wrecker
    Free Member

Don’t do it, electric hobs are rubbish.

+1.
    Having just gone from electric to gas, I have no idea why anyone would prefer an electric hob.
    Personally I wouldn’t touch it. What if the valve doesn’t hold and you disconnect it?

spooky_b329