Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • question for the shop mechanics
  • peachos
    Free Member

What tool would a bike shop mechanic use to remove frame pivot / hub bearings?

I know the hammer & screwdriver method works (have done it) but if you needed to do a lot of frames what is out there to make the job a piece of pi$$?

Thinking blind bearing puller, but is there something better?

Can they also be used for hubs etc too?

Ta!

z1ppy

I’m not a bike mechanic… but when I asked an engineer to get dead bearing out, a blind puller was what he used..

IME a blind puller is down right the most useful tool for doing jobs like this, once the inner race has fallen out. Admittely you can usually do without one if a bearing is in ‘good’ condition or can get to it (outer race) with a screw driver as you say. Stuff like cartridge wheels hubs are the most difficult IME, and where a blind puller comes in handy & a screw driver and hammer is not an option.
    Not a cheap tool though, and when I need one the other day I needed 32mm+ size (which might be unusually large), which none of the ‘ebay’ blind puller kits cover as std (+32mm sizes are avaiable if you search the web).

The engineers at my old works sorted out a number of bearing for me with one of these, but for once in a blue moon job, it might be worth locating a local engineering firm or garage with one, rather than buy one yourself.

peachos
    Free Member

cheers zippy!

i’m looking into buy one for my club so it would be a shared purchase & thus far more affordable. have seen sets for around £100-£150.

so assuming that the bearing is in good condition and both races are still in tact would a blind bearing puller simply drag pretty much any bearing out simply and easily?

z1ppy

What a great idea, a group buy of a decent very useful tool..