Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Programmer technical test interview frustration
  • flanagaj
    Free Member

I have been a Java developer for 15 years, but I have a bloody awful memory these days. If I have a coding problem to solve I always try and see whether there is an open source option or whether someone has already solve the problem for me. As a result google is my friend. This has always been my approach. I mean, why waste time and the firms cash solving a problem which has already been solved.

Trouble is, I went for a tech interview the other day and they sat me down in front of a laptop and asked me to solve a few problems. Issue was, I had no google to help and they had not included any of the apache commons libraries. So as a result I was rather &%£$”%”

With such a poor memory I find it so difficult to read a tech book and retain the knowledge.

Anyone else also find it frustrating that companies write these tests so that it favours those with a good memory.

I am starting to think that at 43 it’s time to see what openings are going at the local Homebase store.

allthegear
    Free Member

Interviewers usually do this kind of thing when they don’t have an interview process mature enough to realise it’s utterly, utterly pointless. To be honest, if I was sat down with a “programming challenge” like this, I’d probably just walk.

Mind you, I’m 44 and do PHP…

Rachel

GrahamA
    Free Member

I’ve run interviews using coding tests and I’m much more interested in how the candidate attacks the problem than the solution – if you haven’t already heard back I’d not give up hope.

You can always practice to brush up your skills; something like DailyProgrammer or Kata may help if you submit to DailyProgrammer you can get feedback on your code.

I’ve used FizzBuzz, String reversing and computing pi.

The only time I worried was when someone claiming Java experience could not implement FizzBuzz