Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Probate – doing it yourself
  • singletracksurfer

my dad recently died and left me as executor. It’s a very small and simple estate (all goes to my mum) so I thought I’d do it myself (not knowing any better), but just had a meeting with ITC (recommended by Barclays bank) who said peopel rarely do it themselves as it is pretty complicated and time consuming (as they would), and quoted £3,000.

Anyone done it, have any advice or know of any books on how to do it (other than HMCE stuff)?

thanks.

p.s. I work for myself and can allocate some time to it as required.

NJA

Firstly, Sorry to hear about your loss.

Secondly, don’t touch ITC with a bargepole they are VERY expensive and their initial quote is very rarely what you end up paying.

Thirdly, I will declare an interest – I am a Will Writer and Probate Practitioner.

So, for a small estate it is perfectly possible to do things for yourself. If the estate is under £5,000 you will not need to apply for probate, if the estate is between £5,000 and £20,000 you (as executor) can normally sign a disclaimer with the banks and they will transfer assets into your mum’s name.

Remember that any assets that were held in joint names between mum and dad will normally pass automatically to mum by what is known as survivorship. This will normally include the family home if it was owned jointly.

Bottom line is that every case is different but for a married couple on first death with everything passing to the survivor £3K is ridiculous, we recently did a similar case for £200 plus VAT (admittedly very simple). I would stick my neck out and say most people in your circumstances can manage it yourself.

Check my website http://www.myinheritance.co.uk for my phone number and give me a call for an informal chat.

Regards
    Nick.

poly
    Free Member