Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Pressing in a Headset and fitting crown race
  • carlos
    Free Member

Looking for help and advice on pressing in a new headset into a new frame, I’ve got the use of a proper headset press so it’s not like I’ll be trying to hammer them in. Thing is I’ve never used one before and it’s not actually for my bike. Also for installing the new race onto the forks.

So any of you have any suggestions as to what to do or what not to do??

Should I just leave it to the LBS and let them charge him £15?

Cheers

Carl

jfeb
    Free Member

Race – cut a slot in it with a hacksaw and just slide it on

Cups – I just “bash them in with a mallet” but surely a “proper” headset press is self-explanatory?

druidh
    Free Member

It’s not for your bike and you don’t know what you’re doing?

bonj
    Free Member
    carlos
    Free Member

Thanks for the link bonj.

jim
    Free Member

A section of 40mm plastic waste pipe, a block of wood and a hammer work just fine for tapping on a crown race.

GeForceJunky

Remember to line up the writing on your headset with you frame if you fussy before you press it in. To fit the crown race if its not spilt then I tape it on with a hammer and big screwdriver, jsut make sure you not hammering against the bearing surface.

smiffy

put the races in the freezer for a couple of hours and they will fall in.

jond
    Free Member

Check that the cups are going in square to the frame – you may need to do one at a time, if they’re not then push them out and try again. Ideally the press should be bearing on the *cups* or the outer race, not the inner race if the bearing is already fitted (tho’ I’ve previously fitted an FSA Extreme like that, where I didn’t have much choice at the time).

The cups *shouldn’t* be greased – if they are then there can be excessive cup<>headtube movement, possibly screwing up the headtube (that’s from Spesh UK)

Del