Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Planning permission – any way to check the probability of being granted?
  • Legoman
    Free Member

A plot of land has become available in my village, has no planning permission in place and although the agents details state it would be ideal for grazing or a paddock, it also suggests it might be an investment for future development.

I’m a total planning novice, so am wondering how I can get an educated opinion on whether residential planning permission would be considered & under what circumstances?

Cheers.

wwaswas

local plan, covenants on the land itself, other examples of local builds on green land, phone planning office and ask, ask agent why they think it may be an investment?

tbh, unless it’s actually being sold with planning (at least in principle) I’d be sceptical it will get it.

(I am not a planning expert)

Daffy

Also check for uplift.

Rockhopper
    Free Member

Informal chat with the planners – some Councils now charge for this though.

jam-bo

if planning was likely, why would the vendor not have got it therefore increasing the value of the land significantly.

Rockhopper
    Free Member

Can you give us a link – may be able to advise.

wzzzz
    Free Member

Who knows. If it were a straightforward one the seller would have got permission on it first.

Buy it and sit on it, but don’t pay too much for it without permission.

The pasture opposite our house had been denied permission twice in 20 years.

Last year they got permission on it, and its now up for sale.

We’ve gotta build more and more houses, planners prefer to put them inside village limits. Who knows how policy will change in the next 10 years.

sharkbait
    Free Member

it also suggests it might be an investment for future development.

This means absolutely nothing I’m afraid. Sounds like it’s agricultural land and getting change of use can be a long and arduous job.

How much land is there and what’s the price?