Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Permission to use photograph
  • z1ppy

One of my Flickr images (canal not mtb) has apparently been selected for use, by a small canal mapping company. They said they give me credit & a free map.. I’m very happy with this, so is there any reason’s I shouldn’t give permission or place ‘limits’ on it’s use by them?

(there was a thread before but I can’t find it)

PS: I’m a piss poor photographer & it’s just a “snap” I took

nickjb
    Free Member

I occasionally get pictures for the work I do or for my website by emailing people and most are friendly and happy to let me. I’m not a big multi national and the work I do is often for charities. I would happily do the same if anyone asked me. I might be tempted to place a restriction that can only use for the particular use they are requesting with the caveat that I would most likely be happy for them to use elsewhere if come back and check.

z1ppy

that exactly the phasing I want Nick, they sound like an honest bunch & I doubt my photograph would ever be used elsewhere, but would like the chance to protect myself, many thanks.

zokes
    Free Member

Only reason I can think of is that I’ve had three such requests from what sound like similar organisations in the last little while, and am yet to receive a free anything, despite the promises…

Drac

Pictures of avalanches can cause a whole host of trouble.

z1ppy

drac that just “whossed” right over my head… do what?

nbt

zippy, see this thread for more details

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/avalanche

footflaps

Anything non commercial / educational / well meaning I’m happy to let use my photos for nought. Commercial sites have to pay…

z1ppy

dear god.. I seen the thread up to the point where the permission was asked by the bbc & not looked at it since.
    Wow, just wow..

Footflaps, it’s commercial but a small 3 person venture commercial, not some huge conglomerate

ianfitz
    Free Member