Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Pedal advice for a novice mtb-er
  • heechee
    Free Member

Hi folks

I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice on new pedals for my mtb. I wish to try upgrading to flat pedals from the stock pedals that came with my rockhopper. I am a novice rider, wishing to improve.

I have got about 50 or 60 quid to spend (more at a push if its required). I have seen mixed online reviews about dmr v12 pedals. I would be most obliged if anyone can tell me if these are the ones to go for or perhaps try something else.

Also, the dmr v12 pedals seem to tighten with an allen key, but my stock pedals do not. If I was to purchase pedals that tighten with an allen key would they still fit? I assume I would need to get a tool to take off my existing pedals.

I warmly welcome any advice.

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Any MTB pedal will fit – you don’t need to spend than much tho – cheaper flat pedals are available. Edinburgh bike co op sell some for £20 for example

Most pedals just tighten with a spanner – it might need to be a thin one

beware one side has a reverse thread and I can never remember which

Park tools or Sheldon Brown sites will have good advice

cinnamon_girl

Your existing pedals probably need a pedal spanner. Flat pedals mainly tend to just need an allen key.

Ideally, sealed bearings are the way to go but you will need to check on this.

Pedals are very personal and you will get lots of different suggestions. But I would suggest that you need to use them in conjunction with decent shoes with a grippy sole.

It’s possible that if you have larger than average feet, you would need a broader platform.

I started off with dmr’s but didn’t get on with them. Now use Straitlines but they will be dearer, unless there’s anything on the Classifieds.

On my singlespeed I use a different pedal – Funn Soljams and they should be within your budget.

PeaslakeDave
    Free Member