Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • ouchy arms and hurty shoulders……
  • bagpuss72
    Free Member

Just started riding and my back arms and neck are killing think I’m clutching on from sheer fright after my first ‘twilight’ ride and guess I’ll relax a bit given time. Got fairly good lower body (leg) strength from hiking but is it worth doing something to build upper body strength (female so a bit flimsy on the arm strength) or will that just come in time?

Guess its just using new muscles?

Cougar

Could be saddle position / bar height I guess. Too long a cockpit?

(Disclaimer: I’m a noob.)

bagpuss72
    Free Member

I was wondering if I’m leaning down too much but last bike I had was a chopper so………..

bagpuss72
    Free Member

cockpit? Its def a bike not a lear jet :mrgreen:

Keva
    Free Member

swimming is good for building upper body strength, and also my favourite, Hindu Press-ups

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NcW61Bb8uOo

Kev

bagpuss72
    Free Member

That looks like I’ll knock my teeth out but I’ll give it a go!

I’ve got yoga on the Wii I’ll see whats on that

rOcKeTdOg

Furious self love has the same symptoms

bagpuss72
    Free Member

My wrists are quite strong already thanks 😉

retro83
    Free Member

Cougar – Member

Could be saddle position / bar height I guess. Too long a cockpit?

(Disclaimer: I’m a noob.)

it sounds like this, stem too long or bars too wide maybe. I would suggest posting a pic of you sitting on the bike, but I suspect some people would get banned if you did.

CaptainMainwaring
    Free Member

It will start to go away with more time on the bike developing more confidence.

For a bit of upper body strength I do press ups, sit ups and arm curls before each ride. Upper body strength will help you protect yourself when you fall off. And yes you will fall off, or you’re not trying hard enough 🙂

bagpuss72
    Free Member

*takes up knitting put bike on ebay*

binners