Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Orange ST4, Frame troubles
  • bedfo
    Free Member

Hi all

I have recently bought an ST4 frame, its an 08 model. Just wondering if anybody out there has had any issues with theirs? I have been riding mine for a couple of months now and there is a small crack developing on the weld at the top of the rocker mount on the down tube.

I'm not too worried about it as I have the warranty, however I am a bit miffed, I thought Oranges were well known for being pretty rugged.

I have had issues with commencal Meta 5 frames, I went through 3, they all cracked in a similar place. I assumed those issues were due to poor quality manufacture, however I am beginning to wonder if its something to do with my riding? I am light, 9.5 stone, I ride aggressively but am generally pretty smooth, no big drops to flat or anything like that!

Interested to know of any known problems with the ST4

Cheers

mattstreet

Got an ST4 and can't say I've had any problems. Seem to recall someone once having a rear-end that wasn't long enough (causing the rear wheel to collide with the seat tube) and there's certainly been a thread on here some time ago about a 'crack' on the down-tube rocker mount before, but IIRC it was simply the lacquer/paint, not the frame or welding. At 9.5 stone, you should do very well to cause it any harm unless you've ended up with a dodgy one!

So, could be just the paintjob. Got any pictures?

myheadsashed

Is it just the paint cracking?

rubberneck
    Free Member

exchange it for a 5 mate 😈

bedfo
    Free Member

Its not just the paint, it is running through the weld. I am an aerospace engineer and have a fair idea of a crack when I see one, paint on a weld does not just crack! Most people wouldnt even notice it but I have become pretty good at spotting these little cracks after so many commencals!