• This topic has 8 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by igm.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Open University
  • mactheknife

Has any one here completed or working towards a degree or diploma with the open university?

I am very interested in working towards an engineering degree. And down the line tailoring it to the mechanical side. I work in the oil and gas industry and looking towards the future i feel this could stand me in very good stead. I have a lot of time to devote to studies when i am not working so that is not a problem. I also have a full apprenticeship and other qualifications.

A couple of questions.

How much time would i have to devote to studying a week??

Did you find that you got help from OU when there were areas that you did not understand in your studies.

Overall are you glad you did the degree/diploma. I dont want to devote a lot of time and money to this to the find its not worth the paper it is written on.

Any info or advice would be greatfully appreciated. I will give them a call tomorrow but looking for different views.

geoffj

I’m just finishing the first year of an MBA with the OU. There is an advised time commitment of 16 hours per week to get through the material. Everything is provided in their books / cd roms / and DVDs and no further reading is expected.

Tutorials are the big thing. A good tutor can make life easier – mine is OK, rather than great. Overall, I’ve been pretty pleased with my course, but you have to be disciplined to get through the material.

Good luck.

Moomin
    Free Member

for a 30 point course its 8 hours per week, for 60 point course its 16hrs per week

I started from scratch and reckon it will take around 6 yrs to get a full degree. I would suggest getting as many points as you can from previous qualifications you can get.