Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • on one 456 to downhill on
  • gandalf_ukwizard
    Free Member

i had a stock built on one 456 evo 2 the back end of 2013 built to their spec and have been doing my normal trail riding on it.

http://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/CBOO456EVO2DEO/on-one-456-evo-2-shimano-deore-mountain-bike

i have recently been asked to have a crack and get into downhilling, now apart from the “go get a downhill bike” what can i do to the 456 to tinker it more toward downhill than trail riding?

im pretty new to all things mtb so forgive the ignorance,
    do i need to consider tyre choice, handlebar width, etc etc

appreciate the input

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

It’s no different to ‘trail’ riding, except you don’t have to worry about climbing back up.

Downhill tyres will make the most difference, e.g. supertacky maxxis high rollers. Get the biggest, softest compound tyres you can find.

Fit a bash ring if you’ve not already got one. You could go the whole hog and fit a single ring and chain device, but IME the chain stays on well enough with a frotn mech and a bashring.

gandalf_ukwizard
    Free Member

i recently converted the triple to a double with a bash so thats one thing ticked off!

ok cheers dude thats comforting to know ive not got to chuck £100s at it

thank you

chakaping
    Free Member

Shortest stem and widest bar that you can get your hands on.

Definitely not more than 50mm stem, preferably 780mm wide bar.

If you’re on 9sp and keeping more than one front ring, I’d get a Blackspire Stinger or similar. Maybe this one…
    http://www.pinkbike.com/buysell/1500048/

If you’re on 10 speed then a clutch mech would be a great investment.

spicer
    Free Member

Love riding my 456Carbon on downhill trails- biggest things I would ensure are a short stem with wide bars (looks like thats already ticked with the stock spec though!). I have a 40mm stem, 760mm bars.