Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Nobby Nics differences?
  • johnsquiresplectrum
    Free Member

Im thinking about giving a set of these a try. On CRC they have many different Nics ranging from £20 to £46.

Does anyone have any experience of the cheaper Nics compared to the more expensive?

Do they share the same characteristics or are we talikng a completely different tyre?

Cheers.

jambalaya
    Free Member

Firstly I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to comparing tyres, I just started a few weeks ago having ridden same brand for 3yrs.

That being said I’m finding the cheap Nobby’s better than the expensive Fat Alberts. The cheaper tyres are a little heavier and thicker but I’m finding them more grippy and to me that’s the most important thing. I’d say the more expensive Nobby’s will be better (eg lighter) than the cheaper ones but to me that’s secondary as to whether you like the tread/grip/rolling resistance etc. FYI I’ve ben riding High Rollers but I wanted a more all round and xc capable tyre.

jonke
    Free Member

Can act like almost completely different tyres. It’s all in the compounds used and the weight of the tyre.

I’m loving my triple compound evo Scwalbes at the moment after years of hating Scwalbes – the trailstar/pacestar compounds options makes a huge difference.

http://www.bikediscount.com has cheap nobby nics for €30 a tyre for the evo/pacestar tubeless ready version at the moment (tho you do have to pay postage too)

bigbloke
    Free Member

Cheaper compound is harder and wears better but lacks the finesse in grip of its more expensive version.

honourablegeorge

Big differences in the casings too – Evo and Snakeskin versions have thicker/better protected sidewalls. There’s a weight penalty, but it’s one worth paying, the lighter ones are easy to rip, the Snakeskin very durable.

transapp
    Free Member