Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • No, you CAN’T cycle to school!
  • TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Cycling to school was banned outright at my school

theflatboy
    Free Member

staggering.

phinbob

I love the bit about the road outside the school being too busy at the start and the end of the school day….er hello?

nickc

As a chair of Governors, I despair sometimes at my colleagues, I really do.

UpQuickDownSlow

Why doesn’t he just lock his bike up outside the school gates?

timber

agree with UQDS – most schools have about a million signs outside so there is bound to be somewhere to lock his bike

If the head really isn’t that interested, do they actually have any interest in the children there, or do they just want a nice tidy site and balance sheet?

oldgit
    Free Member

My lad had to pass his CPT before he could ride to school.

miketually
    Free Member

I’m a teacher and a school governor and find that story shocking.

Agree with the posts about just locking the bike up outside though, as there’s nothing the school can actually do to stop you riding.

theflatboy
    Free Member

it doesn’t exactly sit very well with promoting and encouraging exercise and healthy lifestyle, does it?

Amos
    Free Member

How things changed! When I was at school I was a keen rugbyist but hated football and so my P.E. teachers let me go xc riding instead of course I had to service there bikes during my lunch hour….

VanHalen

in some instances it can be dangerous for kids to cycle and this is not the only school to take this stance.

without knowing the school and the road and access problems you cant really comment.

theflatboy
    Free Member

without knowing the school and the road and access problems you cant really comment.

apart from the bit where they are allowed to when cycling proficiency’s on.

miketually
    Free Member

in some instances it can be dangerous for kids to cycle and this is not the only school to take this stance.