Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Newbie to MTB's
  • princehuggy
    Free Member

I’m a newbie to MTB’s and all. As you can see, this is my first post 🙂

I’m looking for a 29er, don’t know why, I just like the look of the massive wheels.

Any ideas on what to get would be much appreciated. I do have a budget of £500 though. Here’s something I was looking at, to get me started.

VooDooAizan29er

It’s within my price range and from what I’ve read on here, as a 29er, looks like the handles bars a wide enough to help with the handling.

(Sorry can’t get the URL link to work)

Junkyard
    Free Member

fixed link

Dont ride a 29 er so I cannot help you out

jekkyl

lol @

I just like the look of the massive wheels.

it’s a good a reason as any.
    I think at that price point that halfords special is probably okay, the components are a bit towards the lower end of quality but they should still work. If you’d consider 2nd hand you’ll likely get much more for your money. Have a search for the Orange Clockwork which is a great bike and 2nd hand usually go for around the £500 mark. Good luck.

pink bike is a great site that people who are new to the sport may not know of.

for eg: http://www.pinkbike.com/buysell/1874320/

mildbore

What Jekkyl sez,second hand will get you better value, especially if you can get something with an air fork which you can tune to your weight. Forks on bikes less than about a grand new tend to be very basic and the limiting factor on entry level bikes. However buying secondhand can be a bit of a minefield if you don’t know what to look for/knowledge of potential pitfalls. Do you know anyone into the sport who could help with a secondhand purchase?

kayak23

As mentioned, the forks mainly but also other components tend to be not up to much on cheaper bikes, but you can always upgrade in the future when you can’t resist the shiny things feel you want to.