Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • New to rear suspension, some questions.
  • deanfbm
    Free Member

Hi, I’m new to this rear suspension business, I have a couple of questions. I have a specialized pitch.

My shock pivot bolt appears slightly slack in the bush. Lifting up my seat, i get the tell tale sign of a loose bush, but it has been recently replaced along with the spacers. Removed the shock from the bike, there is no play between the bush and shock or spacers and bush, I did notice quite a bit of slack between the pivot bolt and spacers. IMO, this is what is causing the slight bit of play in the rear.

Is this normal or acceptable? A off the shelf bolts diameter is not going to be made to a tolerance that allows a nice snug, slip fit. Is the bolt that comes stock on the frame more than a off the shelf bolt, a custom bolt? Is it normal for it to wear during use and need replacing?

During turns which you’re really nailing and pumping hard, is it reasonable for the suspension to compress around 75%? In my head a lot of force is going down from your body, through the bike, to the ground, then a reaction force from the ground to the bike, it’s reasonable right?

cynic-al
    Free Member

Former…I tighten the bolts and try to ignore it 😎

Later – no idea, but it sounds reasonable. In theory you should “just” bottom out your suspension once per ride.

bigyinn
    Free Member

The thing is with air springs, you can’t actually bottom out an air shock due to the spring rate rising pretty steeply at the end of its travel.
    No I wouldn’t expect there to be a loose movement on a rear sus setup. If theres a slight bit of a clonk when you lift the back end up and put it down, then somethings loose somewhere that shoudln’t be.

fivespot
    Free Member

Knowing Specialized, one or more of the other pivot bearings has wear/play in them.

deanfbm
    Free Member

^Can people not read?