Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • New laptop time – any recommendations?
  • rondo101
    Free Member

My existing laptop is 6 years old. I’ve upgraded RAM and HDD to keep it useable, but I can’t watch HD videos on it (integrated graphics card). It’s really slow at processing anything intensive in CS3 (RAW conversions take forever) & as I’m getting one of the new Go Pro cameras for xmas (which needs Vista minimum & I’ve only got XP), I think it’s time to replace it.

Budget is up to £800. I guess I want to be looking at a i5 or i7 processor with separate graphics card (nVidia Cuda?). Doesn’t need to be overly portable (just around the house), so 16″ or 17″ screen. No desktops.

Found THIS one, which seems to fit the bill, but I’ve never used toshiba laptops before. Any good?

Anything else I should be looking at?

I’ve been very impressed with the HP Pavilion I bought last year. Haven’t really got a lot else to say.

RobHilton
    Free Member

Anything else I should be looking at?

I’d go for something cheaper with a bigger discount:

http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/computing/laptops-315-c.html

Maybe your new expensive purchase will last 6 years again, but if you get one now for half the price and another in 3/4 years you’ll keep up with the technology more easily for the same cost and won’t feel so bad about, say, dropping it in the bath 2 days after the warranty expires :mrgreen:

Cougar

I don’t know much about that particular model, but I’m quite a fan of Toshiba laptops in general. Toshiba have (or at least, used to have, not dealt with them for a bit now) a very froody attitude towards their customers.

Looks like a good spec to me. Whether it’s good value or not I don’t know, I’m a little out of touch with current pricing.

rondo101
    Free Member

Whether it’s good value or not I don’t know, I’m a little out of touch with current pricing.

This is my problem; there’s been a lot of development in 6 years!