• This topic has 42 replies, 35 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by scz4.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 43 total)
  • New Bike – Keep going over bars or stopping dead!
  • scz4
    Free Member

So I recently bought a new Lapierre Zesty 150mm travel bike, 27.5″ wheel compared to my old Trek Fuel with 26″.

Now I’ve been biking in Scotland for 15 years, trips to the Alps etc, so fairly experienced I’d say. However, with this new bike, I keep getting the sensation the bike is stopping dead, sometimes resulting in an over the bars trip. I’ve gone over 4 times in the last 3 months, before that probably once a year if that.

Both bikes had dropper seats, so quite accustomed to getting my weight right back. I thought it was an issue with my Pike and have since fitted tokens, but that’s not resolved the issue, although at least I’m not bottoming out the fork now.

So any suggestions? My riding technique hasn’t changed. With a slacker head angle, 27.5″ wheels, wider bars and shorter stem, this shouldn’t be happening….

Not sure what to do, but it’s taken the shine off the new bike! 🙁 🙁 🙁

Graeme

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Leave the front brake alone.

mboy
    Free Member

Shorter TT than the old bike or longer?

br
    Free Member

Get some training.

Rubber_Buccaneer

Leave the front brake alone.

Or maybe just don’t tug so hard.

monkeysfeet
    Free Member

Front fork set up? Diving when braking?

fluxhutchinson
    Free Member

How are your brake levers set up? Too far pointing down and that can help send you over the bars.

singlespeedstu

Or maybe just don’t tug so hard.

No need to accuse him of being a w4nker.

zero-cool
    Free Member

Fit smaller rotors?

hora
    Free Member

Adjust your shock/is it working right?

Leave the front brake alone? Eh.

roverpig

If the head angle is slacker then presumably you need to get more weight over the front to weight the front wheel properly. Maybe it is just taking a while to get the balance right.