Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • netbooks and photoshop-illustrator-flash-after effects
  • avalanchequeen
    Free Member

I am an art teacher and all my students had to buy a netbook. most of them bought the samsung NC10. Now, the head wants me to buy one myself, as he has scraped the computer that was in my classroom. (I have got a MacBook Pro but am reluctant to take it to school as the last time I took my Powerbook along, a student broke its screen…)
    I don't really want to buy another notebook just for school and am wondering whether a netbook would be enough. Also, if the students' computers can't process said programs (see title), then I can't teach them and it wouldn't make any sense for me to buy one just for powerpoints.

I have heard that all laptops with Windows 7 are in fact not netbooks i.e. designed for using mainly the net, but hybrids, as this OS uses much more memory than Vista or XP. Does this mean, I would have to look for a "netbook" with Windows 7? I find this quite confusing as I have seen the same computers with XP or 7 installed.
    Could I use a netbook with those programs? What requirements would it have to have? RAM, Processor, Graphic card?

Thank you for your help everyone

grumm
    Free Member

Does your employer not have to supply one for you? Or have I misunderstood?

IA

Not all win7 machines are netbooks.
    Some netbooks have win7.

Win7 has no bearing on the type of machine.

The above programs will work on a netbook, but be slow. Too slow? I dunno. I suspect doing graphical work on a netbook my main issue would be the lack of screen space more than anything else (10" 1024×600 or similar on most).

IA

Oh also, even at student prices, the cost of all the above software will be more than the machine! Unless the school buys licenses for the students?

tomzo
    Free Member

It does run photoshop so i presume it can run other adobe software with no problems.