Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Need fork advice
  • chief9000
    Free Member

Hello Chaps,

I’m new here and I need a bit of advice. So , I have been riding around on a pretty old bike for the last 12 years and now its time to upgrade. I like near the alps and I am looking at getting a Cotic soul, I though that this would enable me to have the best of both worlds in terms of climbing and fun descents. I would also like to do a bit of comp when i regain my fitness levels.

So, I gather that this bike does well with anything up to 140mm, I wont think i want to go this high, in fact 120 or 130 would be great for me. However at times I would also like to be at around 100. Is there a fork which I can use 100-130? like an easily adjustable ? perhaps its a novice question, but I have been out of the game for a while 🙂

Also what forks would you guys recommend? My budget is around 400 smackers, I don’t mind having last seasons version. So if there are any recommendations of where I can get some good deals, that would also make me very happy.

Cheers

andysblacksoul
    Free Member

Used to run Rockshox Recon U-Turn coils on my Soul (85-130mm) they were great, but a bit heavy and to be honest, I found I mostly left them at around 120…

I weigh about 12st and last year upgraded to some SID RLT Ti 120mm with poplock and haven’t looked back. The Soul frame is so nicely balanced for ups and downs at 120mm and the lockout plus the SID’s lightness more than make up for the lack of travel adjustment:

You can pick up a new pair of SIDs, Rebas or Revs for around £400 if you look around, I bought mine from Merlin Cycles…

continuity
    Free Member

If you’re living near the alps, 140mm would be thoroughly recommended. The soul is supposedly designed for the longer fork.