Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • My 1st Puffer (and not necessarily the last!) Long soz!
  • devs
    Free Member

It seems like a long time ago that me and one of the Moray Minx girls made a pact to do the Puffer on a club night out. She was already enlisted so I think she was just looking to stitch someone else up. Anyways, when I asked for team members or a partner there were none forthcoming so I decided it would have to be solo. This is a massive undertaking for me as I’m a relative newbie to mountain biking having only taken it up since retiring from rugby and the only event I have ever taken part in is a couple of laps of the 10 More in Moray as part of a quad. The morning the places went on sale I logged in 40 mins after the website opened and ……sold out! Ah well. I tried. Shame. I’ll just have to enjoy the festive season with lots of food and beer then. But wait, on the 27th of December I’m out having an all you can eat Chinese because I’m sick of turkey and an email arrives. Someone has fallen out and would you like their place? Bummer, training starts tomorrow then. At least it would if there wasn’t so much snow around. I made do with local runs in the snow but after thinking that it was pretty hopeless I decided that I would still do the event but just enjoy it rather than take it seriously, not that someone aged 44 and as heavy as me could really compete anyway. It would have to be a battle not to be last and not to look a numpty. Thanks to my lurcher nagging me and some of the club members pushing me I managed to get a few longer rides in in the last 2 weeks, some on completely suicidal sheet ice in the hills. Oh how useful that practice would turn out to be!
    I got 2 of my drinking buddies to volunteer to be pit bitches. Luckily one of them is quite a skilled mechanic and owns a 4WD Bongo camper with winter tyres on. Winner!