Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Mudguards for my Jeffsy 29er
  • orangespyderman

Looking for advice on mudguards. I’ve been looking at the MudHugger website as it’s the time of year when I’d like to get a little less clarty, but I really can’t figure out how well the rear would work on a full suss like my Jeffsy. I’m assuming I would need a “Front Race Mudhugger” (plus extender?) and the “Rear mudhugger 29er” (plus extender?)

Any experience or advice on good alternatives?

jlln
    Free Member

Hi orange…
    Not sure about 29ers but my Jeffsy 27 wheels have mudhuggers front and rear which make a big difference.
    I’d suggest going for the extenders but I have no knowledge of how well they work. There is a similar thread on here with a lot of comments on Mudhuggers.
    Personally I still get some splatters from the rear tyre. I think they are coming off the sides of my 2.4 inch tyre. I also get a lot of splatters from the front tyre on the underside of the downtube and shins – this is with the full length mudhugger, not the shorty, but it dies protect the front fork.
    I definitely recommend mudhugger. Having said that it depends where you position them above the tyres. My front Pike fork doesn’t give a whole lot of space between the tyre and the slider bridge so things can get snagged which is more noisy than dramatic…

jam-bo

The extender for the front is essential for a 29r.

andreasrhoen
    Free Member

Jeffsy – that’s a neat bike!!!

On my cheap hardtail and full suspension bikes (27.5 and 29) I use Mudhuggers on the front. Can’t fit the rear mudhugger on the full suspension so…

There I use in winter time a TOPEAK DEFENDER. Mounts to the seat tube. Means no dropper in winter time…