Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • mtb photography action shots advice….
  • cloudnine
    Free Member

Was going to try and get some dirt jump / fast berm shots in a few weeks.
    I’m pretty new to photography so anyone got any good tips advice for getting some decent shots.
    I have a Nikon v1 and a 10_30mm and a 30-110mm lens.
    Will be a sunny day.. so any tips on shutter speeds, lenses, filters, positioning for shots etc

AlexSimon

Before you go have a look at lots of shots on the web. Choose ones you like and that you think you’ll be able to get the positioning for. Copy these.

If you want to isolate the subject from the background, then you can either use a shallow depth of field (might struggle on your lenses unless at full telephoto), or try to pan the camera with the subject on a slowish shutter speed (try 1/15th and work from there).

General tips:
    Take lots
    Repeat shots (reviewing on the camera in-between)
    Perhaps use continuous shooting
    If you camera has an intelligent tracking focus, use that.
    Vary settings
    Put the subject where you are going to get the shot to frame it before sending them back up the trail to ride through it.
    Choose dynamic body positions. Bike leaning over or extended over a jump. Just a comfortable jump wont look as impressive.
    Leave a little room in the frame in front of the rider to give a clue to where they are riding towards.

ae212060
    Free Member

Just some quick tips..

1/250 shutter speed is a good start. Adjust your ISO to allow more light in if need be.

Generally your lenses are sharpest in the middle of their range, in the same way that a fork can bottom or top out.

Consider your composition.. http://digital-photography-school.com/rule-of-thirds

ski
    Free Member