Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • MOT time – Kwik Fit or Local Garage
  • rhid

Hello,

My car’s MOT is due at the end of the month and I need at least 1 x new tyre (plus tracking adjustment) to pass! I have had a look online for MOT + Tyre deals and it seems that Kwik Fit, ATS + National Tyres all have some sort of offer on for reasonable money. My car “should” be ok but I am no mechanic and cannot really tell!

I have always used a smaller local garage for MOTs in the past so what are these bigger places like? Honest and decent? Sometimes you hear things about these bigger places saying that they sometimes find extra work…..

The local garage will be more expensive and since I am not made of money cheaper is good but am a touch wary about using one of the above for anything but fitting tyres!

Can anyone enlighten me? Tell me I am being stupid and they are all fine places or tell me not to touch them with a barge pole?

Ta

RHid

restless
    Free Member

I had a cheap offer price for an MOT at Kwik Fit, but it didnt include a free re-test so it wouldnt have worked out any cheaper anyway.

I find my local garage to be the most expensive so went to ‘in and out’ mot centre. dont know if they have themk nationwide but was very quick, good price and i only needed a new wiper blade.

wrightyson
    Free Member

Quick one for you! I had my transit serviced at main dealer and first mot was due at same time. It needed a new rear tyre (my fault running it at low pressure) and high level brake light not working. New tyre fitted, light apparently sorted and an advisory that the rear pads needing doing within 2 to 3 hundred miles! Pass received, ignore offer of pad replacent much to head mechanics disgust! Rear light fails again within a month and pads have got 100 miles left on them at next mot, 1 whole yr later done by local garage!! Oh and about 6000 miles!!!

Northwind