Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • More Job stress – retrain?
  • scunny
    Free Member

So it looks like my contract isn’t going to be renewed in March, it’s not come as a complete shock and i’ve already managed to squeeze one extension out of it, but the money has finally run dry. I’m not particularly upset about this, more annoyed that i’m going to have to go through the whole process of finding another job.

I work as a Team Leader in a Substance Misuse Service. I get paid reasonably well (£27k, not loads but enough), and the hours and autonomy is nice. The obvious route is to find a similar job using the usual recruitment agencies/direct applications. Currently work 1 miles away from my house which is great for getting back to let the dogs out, but i’ve given myself a commuting distance of 50miles when looking for a new position. If anyone works in the same industry and has any leads, please share.

The real reason I’ve posted this is I know there have been a few threads about people retraining. My girlfriend is encouraging me to do this, I’m not really in love with my job and would love to be doing something more practical, she earns enough to cover most costs if i was to spend 2 years relearning (college/uni/apprenticeships) whilst working part time. I’d be very interested in hearing from people that have retrained in plumbing or electrics in their late 20’s. What did you do? How did you do it?

I know that apprenticeships for mature students are like hens teeth unless you can get a foot in through friends/family, so I’m looking at college courses unless i get lucky.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

slightly different approach, every job I have done has been different to the previous one.