Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Medicos – what's the relationship between inflammation + autoimmune conditions?
  • reluctantlondoner

I’m trying to unravel some things that are likely diet related – and there are a load of anti-inflammation diets as well as autoimmune protocols. The foods are essentially the same, which makes me wonder if the conditions are essentially the same too?

If I follow an autoimmune diet for a while, is it safe to assume any inflammation will disappear?

Malvern Rider
    Free Member

Long time ago I used an elimination process/diet to halt a crippling systemic/inflammatory disease. So – short answer is no it’s not ‘safe’ to assume, but yes it can work IME. HTH via PM. I am not a doctor, etc.

martinhutch

Autoimmune conditions are effectively the body’s immune system attacking its own tissues, which can cause inflammation. Best example is rheumatoid arthritis which causes inflammation in the joints.

So yes, an autoimmune and anti-inflammation ‘protocol’ might be vaguely aiming at the same thing.

Goes without saying that a lot of the evidence behind dietary influences on these is not fully established, so take anything you read with a hefty pinch of scepticism. Having said this, as long as you end up with an overall balanced, healthy diet, where’s the problem?

Normal disclaimer. Consult your doc before any major dietary changes, particularly if you have any underlying health conditions.

somafunk

There’s an increasing amount of peer reviewed research into the role of the gut microbiome as the cause of inflammatory autoimmune disorders and many other serious health issues, the role that good gut bacteria and diet can play is just beginning to filter out into the medical orthodoxy.