Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Maximise property potential
  • joepose
    Free Member

Thoughts appreciated:-

Want to try and maximise the profit for my house so that we can move on to better (dont we all, i know). Thing is I bought a piece of land from a neighbour and could potentially build another property on the land. Although I have acces to the front and rear it would spoil the access to the main property if it were split so have been thinkng about a granny annexe or holiday lodge type of build.
    Any thoughts on what that would do to the value? Can only help are my thoughts but whats the best way to maximise the profit so that we can move on to the dream place? Any better ideas?

cynic-al
    Free Member

No clever way of building a proper second property with minimal curtailment of access to yours?

A holiday let might bring in some £, I doubt a granny flat would. But I’m no expert.

br
    Free Member

Also depends on the planning rights you could get.

We wanted to convert one of our outbuildings into a ‘granny’ annex for my folks. They’ve given us permission but said it can’t be a separate house (even though its not attached), so obviously can’t be sold on.

But this suits us as it means we don’t need to put in separate services nor does it mean an additional council tax bill.

wrecker
    Free Member

Whorehouse.

jam-bo

Get outline permission. Sell it.

joepose
    Free Member

Hmmm Whorehouse 🙂

Theres deffinately room to do some kind of build here – what were trying to avoid is selling as it is then coming back to view a year later and see that the new owners have had a brainwave and done what we should have…… if u get my drift???

joepose
    Free Member

Good advise Jam bo – did cross my mind to get the planning and leave the hassle to others

pjm84
    Free Member

Get outline permission. Sell it.

+10000000000000000000000000000

mikewsmith
    Free Member