Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Maths for not entirely dummies – help please
  • dannybgoode

I am currently studying for an insurance exam (entirely as dull and dry as it sounds) and am up against some reasonably complex statistical analysis.

Its far too late to do anything for this particular exam but in general I feel my maths is not as strong as it should be and would like to improve a little.

I have GCSE maths and attempted A-Level Physics but always got confused when the more complex equations were introduced – why do they have to phrase it so confusingly? Assume xy/abc is the adjunct of b.v2 and therefore if you differentiate x/bc*1ve = the sun.

I appreciate the algebraic notation is necessary but is there any books / online courses people can recommend that take a more ‘English language’ approach to explaining it all.

Really looking for something that covers trig, quadratics, differentials, stats etc at an intelligent laypersons level – does such a thing exist?

Cheers

Danny B

euain

How about looking for some lectures on iTunes U or something like that? I managed to get some decent lectures about stats on that a while back when I needed to revise some probability and bayesian stats.

There are a lot of courses aimed at first year students which cover a lot of background as well.

somouk
    Free Member

You really need A Level Maths alongside A Level Physics to keep up with the mathematical work involved.

Maybe see if there is an A Level maths course at a local college?

vinnyeh

Coursera and Udacity both run free online stats courses, as well as maths.
    Coursera
    Udacity

The Udacity course is self paced, the Coursera one started a couple of weeks back.

shermer75
    Free Member

I use the BBC online resources a lot, but they are better for revision. One of my lecturers recommended a couple of websites, I think one was Khan learning or something like that, I’ll be able to look them up in about an hour or so…

shermer75