Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Low Oil Questions Audi A4
  • damo2576
    Free Member

Is there a way to physically check oil level rather than rely on the computer?

I’ve had faults in the past with the oil level light (coming on when oil level is fine) but now the thing is telling me to ‘add more oil immediately’ etc.

I’ve added 3 litres and it’s still doing it.

So I’d like to check manually.

Tried taking it do the dealer but service was closed, would just wait till Monday but have a long drive tomorrow and wanted to check with STW first.

So, what should I do? Engine seems to be running fine. Its a 2l turbo btw. 2010.

Drac

I don’t think there is a way to do it.

I wouldn’t of added oil though until I could get a garage to look at it but I’d also not be driving it.

damo2576
    Free Member

Hmm, can you damage by having too much oil?

Funny thing is I have a degree in Automotive Engineering but spent 15 minutes looking for a dip stick before resorting to the manual!

emac65
    Free Member

I would think there are better websites than here to ask such a question …

Yes you can do a whole load of damage to an engine with too much oil in it !

damo2576
    Free Member

I thought STW was the site with the highest percentage of Audi drivers?!

Drac

Yup you can burst the seals, if you lucky it may just spit it out.

I would think there are better websites than here to ask such a question …

Well the answer will be the same, VAG engines with the auto oil sensor don’t have a dipstick. Which is why he couldn’t find it.

Do you know the correct oil capacity of the engine ?
    Drain all the oil out, then put the correct volume back in.
    Bit of a faff, but better than taking a chance on a long drive with probably 50% too much oil.

cranberry
    Free Member

would just wait till Monday but have a long drive tomorrow and wanted to check with STW first.