Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Looking for a DIY timing system
  • supinerider
    Free Member

I’m after something to take lap times on my pump track without spending a fortune.

So far the options seem to be:

– cheap watch on handlebars with a larger button soldered into the start/stop switch

– home-made light gates of some type and stopwatch

– android app (are there any that use the camera as a motion sensor to trigger a stopwatch?)

– angry impatient girlfriend and stopwatch

I’m not afraid of a bit of soldering but I’m no electronics expert. Anyone made their own system?

CrispyCSW

I’ve got one of these:

It’s designed for swimmers to wear on a finger & count laps, but works fine attached to your handlebars and using your thumb to press the button to start / stop. About £25.

Nick

This might be a reasonable place to start

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1290903871

TooTall
    Free Member

You want to time repeated laps on a pump track AND have a girlfriend? Pfft.

joemarshall
    Free Member

I like hacking stuff, I’d be thinking about an arduino board, as above and some kind of sensor.

Probably the simplest way would be an infrared light sensor / emitter pair and building a light gate out of it. You can buy infrared emitters and receivers specially designed for this.

Possibly, one could a buried capacitive sensor of some kind – I understand if they’re made big enough they can detect cars, although I don’t know how big a battery you need for that!
    http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/CapSense

It would be extra neat if you could work out some way to uniquely identify riders, so you could time multiple people, I think that would need some kind of RFID system. You’d need to bury the sensor mat under the start line, or use antennas at the side (I understand you can stick the RFID tags on people’s helmets, and use a big antenna to read them).