Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Long haul flights – what can and can't I pack in what bags?
  • Zedsdead
    Free Member

I'm new to long haul flights. In fact I'm new to flights really!

I'm heading out to India for my new job tomorrow morning and I'm packing my bags just now.

I suddenly realised that I don't really know what you can or can't put into bags!!!

I know from flying to London that I can't have liquid/gel etc in contailers larger than 100ml.

Can I stick a larger container in my big bag which is checked into the hold?

I'll be carrying my works laptop with me and I have a charger for that, charger for my phone, plug adaptor and a few other leads for it. Are these okay in my hand luggage or should I stick them in my big bag?

Is there anything else I should know? I bought luggage labels for my bag. I have zip-ties to lock the zips up. While I say my big bag it's not that big and there's not really much in it. Enough clothes for a week and a pair of shoes and my washbag – that's it. I figure that if I need anything else I should be able to get it in Bangalore?……

Thanks

obirobkeno
    Free Member

Check the airport's website… They're nice and clear about what to pack etc.

Munqe-chick
    Free Member

Yup the rules for hold luggage hasn't really changed, so you can put anything in it. if you want tweezers, nail clippers, scissors etc as long as they are in the hold bag which is checked in and not your hand luggage you are okay. I'm not sure about leads, I imagine they would be okay however for safety I would probably put them into the hold bag. Remember you can't take liquids through security so you have to buy them the other side, ie bottles of water.
    I would be careful about zip tying the locks up, i know coming back from America you aren't allowed to lock the bags.
    I wouldn't worry about the size of luggage the size of handluggage IMO is ridiculously big and should be chopped.

iDave
    Free Member

you can't lock your bags