• This topic has 30 replies, 17 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by Drac.
Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • living with idiots….
  • alpin
    Free Member

we've a housemate who is, let it be said, odd.

he sits there snorting (some problem with his throat) and touching everything he sees. he'll rub the tap when standing next to it with nothing to do. if your cup or glass is sitting near him whilst he's sitting he'll touch it (!??).

i think (really i know, but i'm not a doctor), that he suffers from autism and i/we try to bear this in mind, but….

i go to have a piss the other day and there is his staring back at me. bear in mind this is one of those german bogs with a 'viewing shelf'. and to top it off there was no paper in the bowl and then he starts to unload the dishwasher.

i told the tale to another housemate and he says it is not the first time that the poo thing has happened and we've had to pull up several times for not washing his hands after going to the toilet and then touching everything.

last monday i went downstairs at 12ish to put the bins out and the door was wide open. luckily nothing had gone, but we live near the centre of town and a relatively busy, yet quiet street. donkey sack was the last person to go outside three hours earlier. the bike room leads on directly from the entrance; 7 bikes worth LOTS of money (€1000 plus) and another six 'push bikes'. i kicked off once he got back and thought he'd understood the concept of closing doors, especially the door to your house.

and now, i go downstairs again and the front door is wide open! arrgh.

he's 29.

does anyone have any tips for living with austistic people. or better still tell me about your worst housemates…..

Drac

does anyone have any tips for living with austistic people.

Yeah don't call them idiots and have some patience.

uplink
    Free Member

he sits there snorting (some problem with his throat) and touching everything he sees