Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Lights for hats
  • JefWachowchow
    Free Member

I have been running a Hope Vision 4 for a couple of years on the bars (which I love) and have often considered a light on my noggin would also be a benefit. However, my local woods have a lot of low branches on the trails and the hat gets a tap on almost every ride.
    I guess I am looking for a real low profile light that fits nice and close to the hat.

Any recommendations?

jam-bo

Duck more?

Diawl
    Free Member

One on each side a la caving?

wwaswas

I use a Lupine Piko and it mounts on the front, not the top of my helmet so it’s lower than the top of my head and mostly out of harms way.

Mister-P
    Free Member

Hat? Helmet?

emsz
    Free Member

I don’t think a light would make a very good hat.

JefWachowchow
    Free Member

I do like the ‘one each side’ suggestion, a la caving or of course Orbital.
    Hat is quicker to type than helmet.

The Piko looks good, thanks. I will have a look at that.

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

Second the Piko, great helmet light as it is so light weight and low profile.

Jason
    Free Member

The Four4th helmet mount is very good, and can be fixed near the front of the helmet. Plus the light unit is tiny, so minimises the chance of it hitting trees.

shortcut

what Jason said – the new mount lets you put the light quite a long way down the front of the helmet to the extent that since using the updated mount I have only had a clash with trees once compared to the regular occurances previously.

The light unit is also reall small and light so works well and doesn’t upset the balance of the helmet on your head.

JefWachowchow
    Free Member

That Four4th mount looks good. I was not aware of these guys, thanks. What lights are you using with it? The Exodus, being the cheapest, would be the one I would consider first as it is to only compliment the vision 4 on the bars.

MrTall
    Free Member