Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • legal info (tyres)
  • luke
    Free Member

I'm trying to get hold of a copy of the 'motor vehicles tyres (safety) regulations 1994, but it's only regulation 25 I need.
    Now I need the proper wording and not an extract off another site, as I can easily find this, but the proper wording has proved illusive.
    So can anyone help me? or is this a task to far for the stw members?

Marge
    Free Member

What's the problem? (i'm a tyre engineer)

thegreatape
    Free Member

Luke, what's the context of this? Could the regulation 25 that you are after be from another bit of legislation, which is then referred to in these 1994 regulations?

luke
    Free Member

Originally it was in The road vehicles (contruction and use) regulations 1986.
    To cut a long story short, I work for a company who is sub contracted by another company to do various things with there vehicles.
    The issue has arisen that a car is to be fitted with a lower speed rated tyre than was originally supplied with that vehicle.
    Now from what we can deduce this is legal provided the vehicle isn't driven over the speed indicated on the speed rating, but we just need the relevant information to cover are arses, in case it goes pete tong.
    Not that it really matters but both tyres are the same load rating.

thegreatape
    Free Member

The 1986 Con/Use regs was as far as I got. I can check stuff when I'm back at work later in the week and forward it to you if that helps?

Marge
    Free Member

In the UK it must be equal or higher than the highest prescribed speed on a British road… [70mph :wink:]

Construction & use Regs #30…

Under Euro directive which is not applied in the UK you would indeed need a tyre with a speed not lower than the original equipment (with the exception of winter tyres)

luke
    Free Member

thegreatape that would be great thanks.

Marge cheers do you have a link to the info?

Marge
    Free Member