Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • knocking two into one rsj and supporting walls.
  • greeble
    Free Member

mid terrace, early 1900 late 1800 house.
    knocking living/dining into one open plan room.

existing wall is load bearing. and made up of brick and black mortar within a timber structure.

upstairs wall is the same and is resting on the floorboards.

width of room is 3.2m wide.

I can’t set the RSJ into the the wall between us and nextdoor due to there being a wooden lintle and the opposite wall is a wall between the hallway and the living/dining. again made in the same fashion as already stated.
    So going to make up two nub’s of 1/2 block on flat with engineering brick padstones ontop to support the rsj. this should be sufficient to support a 203mm x 130mm rsj?

footflaps

You need to get building control etc to approve that and they’ll want all the calcs (from a structural engineer) to show the design is ok.

earl_brutus

email me Im a civil engineer and do structural calcs for a living so would be happy to help;

alexander.lee@engineering dot com

sharkbait
    Free Member

^ this. Would be ‘bad’ if you got it wrong – [not free] professional advice needed.

greeble
    Free Member

good point guys. thanks.

ebygomm
    Free Member

Building control won’t necessarily want calcs. Plenty of local authorities will accept a certain size rsj over a certain span without calcs

footflaps

I suspect if you phoned up building control they could just tell you over the phone from your address. So many people knock rooms through that they must know the numbers for each house size off by heart…

takisawa2