Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Ken Bird Road bike
  • goby

Hi,

My father in-law had told me about this bike then recently he dug it out of his garage and has passed it on to me. I would like to sell the whole bike but i have not any really idea of what it is worth. So i am writing to you all out there i hope that you will give me an honest idea of price. I believe he said the bike dates from the late 70’s ear;y 80’s.
    I will put some pic up below via the link.

http://s905.photobucket.com/albums/ac258/goby_2010/Ken%20Bird/

crazy-legs

Bugger all to be honest. It’s decent quality but nothing special, not like a top end retro Colnago or anything.

Ken Bird had a small bike shop in Crystal Palace and traded on his reputation as a former TdF mechanic. He had a knack of turning any conversation on any topic to “when I worked as a mechanic on the Tour de France…”

He died about 5 years ago.

oldgit
    Free Member

Not a lot. Around that time shops like Ken Birds sold no name frames with the shops name on them. I had a Birds of Colindale (no relation)
    The equipment is bottom end Simplex and silstar, bolt on 271/4″ wheels, Weinmann 999s etc.

However, and it pains me to even suggest you do this. That frame is a simple fixie conversion due to the long drop outs. That’s where your market might be.
    The sales value of the components is almost nowt.
    Other than that, clean it up, bung on some mudguards and keep hold of it.

PS if you split I’ll have the wheels and possibly the brakes.

PPS I sold a similar 70s Claud Butler, the bike wouldn’t sell, but the frame alone when split went for more than I expected for the whole bike.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    oldgit
    Free Member

Steve-Austin
    Free Member

its just an old bike…. £20 at the boot fair

oldgit
    Free Member

Similar bikes higher spec and 531 throughout struggle to reach £50