• This topic has 31 replies, 26 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by Acdc.
Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • Just starting! Please help!
  • Acdc
    Free Member

Right, I'm completely new to mtb except for once on school trip and I throughly loved it so I want to keep riding, so I'm looking at bikes.

I have a budget of £400 and I intend to ride altura trail (whinlatter) and old coach road nr keswick and bridleways nr my house that probably won't be in brilliant condition!

I have been looking at several bikes in my local bike shops:

Specialized Hardrock 2010 disc – £350

Orbea Dakar (i think) – £330 for a hand built bike from a racing company

And a few others (can't remember which) think one was a Giant Talon 2.0 at £450 which is pushing my budget too much to be honest!

Any advice on these bikes and alternatives would be appreciated so would advice on other gear I may/will need and rough price estimates please!

I am about 6 ft 1 with a 33 inside leg so frame sizeing 'guides' would also be appreciated!

Hope this makes enough sense for you to understand enough to help!

pitduck
    Free Member

can`t beat a spesh hardrock for the money. 😀

niallmb
    Free Member

+1 on the hardrock, I'm currently riding one that's now 10 years old and its still a barrel of laughs.

becky_kirk43
    Free Member

Spesh hardrocks are pretty good, if you can stretch to a talon (entry level is the talon 3 I think) they tend to be quite good value for money. Treks might be worth a look as well, for £375 you can have the 3900 disc or the 4300 (non disc but better elsewhere)

senorj

Go and try the bikes you can afford – at least ride them round the block.
    As pitduck says – the spesh is hard to beat.
    You will need a helmet and gloves plus a reasonable waterproof.
    As you know it gets wet up there. 🙂

Spare tubes and pump will make alot of sense too(when you puncture),
    so have a look for a rucksack/camelbak to carry them in.