Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • IT/techy folks – tell me about home working…..
  • grantus
    Free Member

and setting up a PC at home so you can link into a company network remotely?

Is it easy/cheap?, etc., etc.?

Been thinking about trying to punt a more flexible approach to working to the company to allow working from home 2-3 days a week.

Cheers

richmars

You’ll need the help of your work IT dept. Need things like VPN, but I’m no expert.

nickjb
    Free Member

Depends what sort of work you do. Web email and dropbox or similar for file sharing does quite a lot.

xiphon
    Free Member

Firstly – gain the written permission of your employers to allow you to do so. If you don’t, forget it. It could even be a serious offence.

Secondly – buy the IT person/department a crate of beer – getting in their good books is priority number 1 when working remotely. Trust me – I work at the IT end 😉

Thirdly – talk to your IT department. There are various options, and all have different legal (including licensing) issues. There are also serious security considerations.

grantus
    Free Member

ok, thanks

DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member

Should be your IT dept running it for you. You’ll best off replacing your desktop with a laptop so you can dock it when in the office. VPN needs setting up and you’ll need a RAS token etc.

Then you can kick back at home, fire up your work laptop, fire up your personal PC next to it on your desk and sit and browse STW/ebay etc all day and get paid for it. Not that I’d do that. Oh no. Thats naughty.

DaveyBoyWonder
    Free Member

Oh, and don’t try and setup your home PC to access your works network. As above, you’re basically hacking into your work – thats bad. Tell your boss you want to work from home / have the flexibility (mention work/life balance) and see where it goes from there.

bigjim